As it turns out, I live in the best place to enjoy fireworks in Chicago on 4th of July. My luck continues to astonish me!

I walked out to the Pratt Street Pier around 8:20 last night to see what I could see. There were people grouped along the beach, having picnics and enjoying the break from the rain we’d had earlier in the day. Around 8:40, while it was still light, the fireworks down at Navy Pier (downtown) began. I could see them clearly, but my camera ran out of juice so there aren’t any good pictures of the spectacle. Then, as darkness began to creep north along the lakefront, I watched each neighborhood’s show. Oak Street Beach, North Ave. Beach, Lincoln Park, Belmont Harbor, Montrose…. it was wonderful to see a new show begin just as the show to the south was shooting off their grand finale! By the end of the night, I could see the fireworks display as far north as Wilmette and Winnetka.

The best display of the night, though, was right on my own beach. People from the neighborhood bought fireworks and set them off right along our lakefront. The “oohs” and “aahs” came out in unison and the comeraderie of it all reminded me of the neighborhood park we used to frequent on 4th of July when I was young. As I stood on the pier, smiling at the sparkling sky, I hummed a few patriotic songs to myself and was thankful for my freedom.